Legislative Assembly
of Rostov region


By the middle of the XVII century in the Don territory there was a kind of Cossack republic

The superpower in it was in the hands of the general meeting of Cossacks - the Army circle, where they elected atamans and Cossack captains. The first Don ataman is considered to be Saiy-Azaman (XVI c). It is known, that he "calling himself as a servant of Ivan the Terrible" constructed the fortresses in the territory of the Don land (N.Karamzin). In the ХVIII century, when the Don territory submitted to the Russian Crown, the appointment of the Army ataman by election was eliminated. The circle began to work within the limited legislative base, in accordance with the all-Russia "general statutes".

In 1827 there was established the institute of All Cossack Army Ataman. That symbolic rank was given to the heir of the Emperor throne. All the Army atamans of Russia, including the Don Ataman, were his assistants and until 1917 had fie rank of the Army Ordered Atamans.

All Cossack population and the executive power obeyed the ordered ataman. The village government, which was elected for three years, was the lower step of the power. This power scheme existed in the Don region till the February Revolution of 1917, after which there was created the Don executive committee - the organ of Temporary government The atamans, who had sworn allegiance to the tsar, still governed in Cossack villages and districts.

In 1918 in Rostov-on-Don there appeared the congress of farmer and Cossack deputies, which was headed by the Bolshevik. They started to shoot all the Cossacks, who were sympathetic with the former power. After that the Cossacks- rebels stirred up a rebellion. The Soviet congress was closed, and at the end of April, 1918 the German troops invaded the territory of the Great Don Cossack Army. Those days in Novocherkassk there appeared the circle of the Don salvation. On it they decided and declared about creation of the Great Don Cossack Army with the government based on the Russian Empire code of laws. On 16 May, 1918 the circle elected Petr Krasnov as an ataman. However, in February, 1919 the Big Cossack Army circle impeached his credibility and elected, as it appeared for the last time, African Bogaevskiy the Don ataman. In January, 1920 the Soviet power became firmly established once and for all in the Don region. On 17 June, 1922 П congress of the Don Soviets decided to include the Don region in the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic.

The Soviet position in the socialism system was adequate to the political system for many years. At the beginning of 90-s in the USSR there was developed a package of documents, according to which the Soviets of People's deputies became the main power organs, and local authorities became the governing organs. The scheme of the regional authorities was as follows: the Soviet, consisting of З00 deputies, was elected for 5 years on the basis of universal equal franchise and secret vote. The Chairman, was elected by the deputies by the secret vote, convened it for sessions. The Soviet elected the minor Soviet from it, and it fulfilled its commission in the period between the sessions.

According to the new Constitution of Russia, adopted on 12 December, 1993, the Soviet of People's Deputies of Rostov region stopped working. In the territory of the Don region there were city Soviets and Minor regional Soviet, that had to prepare and carry out the election to the new government bodies.

On 27 March, 1994 there took place an event important for the Don region - the first election of the deputies of the Legisla¬tive Assembly of Rostov region took place. There were no accidents in the process of transition to the new system. The sensible position and competent decisions of the Chairman of the Regional Soviet of the last convocation Aleksander Vasilievich Popov contributed to it On 12 April, 1994 at the first meeting of the Legislative As¬sembly of Rostov region Aleksander Popov was elected as a Chairman of the new representative authority organ in the Don region.

During the period of work of the Legislative Assembly of the first convocation there were 31 meetings, 74 regional laws, 158 decisions and 519 decrees were adopted. The As¬sembly worked in such directions as state construction and local authorities; social policy, economic policy, industry and construction, agricultural questions. Among the basic documents of the first convocation there are the Statutes of Rostov region, laws "About local authorities in Rostov region", "About election of the heads of the municipal institutions of Rostov region", "About election of the deputies of the representative organs of the local authorities in Rostov region".

On 29 March, 1998 there was elected the LegisiativeAssembiy of the second convocation and on 7, April Aleksander Vasilievich Popov was re-elected as its Chairman. During the period of the second convocation there were 47 meetings, 316 regional laws, 77 decisions and 849 decrees were adopted.

If during the first four years of its work the Don Parliament was concentrated on the state construction, the deputies of the second convocation focused on the normative base formation in the sphere of social policy and economy. There were adopted the following laws "About the address help to the poor citizens of Rostov region", "About the organization of guardianship and trusteeship in Rostov region", "About development budget of Rostov region", "About the single tax on the imputed earnings for certain types of activity". The interpaliamentary activity was made more active. In 2001 on the initiative of the Chairman the Legislative Assembly Aleksander Popov there was organized South-Russian Parliamentary Association (SRPA), where the representative organs of the subjects of the Southern Federal district of Russia joined. In May, 2002 the speaker of the Don Parliament entered the Presidium of the Council of Russian legislators. On 30 March, 2003 there was election of the Legislative Assembly of Rostov region of the third convocation. Having won with the results of 86,85% of electors votes in Egorlykskiy district № 25, Aleksander Popov was elected as the Chairman of the Legislative Assembly of Rostov region for the third time. 21 deputies of the previous convocation got the mandates of the new parliament.